The Franciscan Monastery
The monastery of San Vivaldo is certainly bound up with a succession of the Franciscan's Office leaving here a notable trace. During centuries the monastery has been enlarged to became the awesome building that today is still possible to admire.
After the Napoleonic suppression, the monastery was given back to the Friars in 1815; suppressed again in 1866 it has been recovered by benefactors and donated to the Friars.
At the end of 19th century it has been necessary to raise the forecourt in front of the Church to accommodate young secondary-school Franciscan student.
After the second world war (1940-1945) with the decline in missions, Franciscans staff has been reduced with the risk to leave the monastery, unique in Tuscany with its rare features.
In the vegetable garden, near the wash-house, is possible to admire the Chapel of Samaritan where till last century there were a big terracotta with Christ and the Samaritan that has been sold to the Cleveland Museum, USA.